Ben Webster by Edwin Alger
Ben Webster's Page

Edwin Alger Jr., pseudonym of Jay Jerome Williams, was the writer of 'Phil Hardy', drawn by George Storm in 1925. This strip appeared under the name 'Bound to Win' between 1927 and 1934. He is also the creator of the comic strip 'Ben Webster' (or 'Ben Webster's Career'), which appeared in newspapers between 1934 and 1940, and in comic books published by National/DC. It is possible that Alger did the art himself during the comic's early years, but in later years he has worked with several ghost artists.

Bound to Win, by Edwin Alger
Bound to Win
Ben Webster by Edwin Alger

Last updated: 2009-03-13

Series and books by Edwin Alger in stock in the Lambiek Webshop:


Since 1999, Lambiek presents the Comiclopedia as a free service to comic fans from all over the world. The database has expanded to over 12,000 biographies of international comic artists, and also has an extensive Dutch section about comics in the Netherlands.
For 15 years, the site was funded from the resources of our Amsterdam-based shop. However, the current economical circumstances make it difficult for us to maintain this service. At the moment the Comiclopedia's sole editor works for us free of charge, aided by a couple of (international) volunteers.

If you want to help us continue and improve our ever- expanding database, we would appreciate your donation through Paypal.