San Diego ComicCon Comicumentary by Gabrielle Bell
San Diego ComicCon Comicumentary

Gabrielle Bell was born in London, UK, but raised in California. In 1998, she created the 'Book of'-mini-comics series, including titles such as 'Book of Insomnia', 'Book of Sleep', 'Book of Black', 'Book of Lies' and 'Book of Ordinary Things'. In 2001 she moved to Brooklyn, New York and released her autobiographical series 'Lucky', published by Drawn and Quarterly. In 2003, Alternative Comics published her comic 'When I'm Old and Other Stories'.

Bell has contributed to anthologies like Mome, Kramers Ergot and The Drawn and Quarterly Showcase. Her work for these anthologies has been collected in 'Cecil and Jordan in New York' by Drawn & Quarterly. Coming of age amidst the zine revolution, cartoonist Gabrielle Bell has been creating her comics to much acclaim, even winning an Ignatz Award for the self-published serialization of Lucky. The second volume of Lucky was published in 2008.

When I'm Old, by Gabrielle Bell
When I'm Old

Last updated: 2010-10-15

Series and books by Gabrielle Bell in stock in the Lambiek Webshop:


Since 1999, Lambiek presents the Comiclopedia as a free service to comic fans from all over the world. The database has expanded to over 12,000 biographies of international comic artists, and also has an extensive Dutch section about comics in the Netherlands.
For 15 years, the site was funded from the resources of our Amsterdam-based shop. However, the current economical circumstances make it difficult for us to maintain this service. At the moment the Comiclopedia's sole editor works for us free of charge, aided by a couple of (international) volunteers.

If you want to help us continue and improve our ever- expanding database, we would appreciate your donation through Paypal.