Can of Worms, by Catherine Doherty

Born in Toronto in 1965, Catherine Doherty's interest in comics started early when she discovered the unpublished comic artwork of her father, Jack Doherty, which he kept in a metal file box in the basement. Trained as an architect and often earning her money as a designer in the film industry, Catherine prefers to split her time between drawing comics and playing in her all-girl cowboy band, The Jane Waynes.

Butchy Barb, by Catherine Doherty

Her first published work was 'Can of Worms', published by Fantagraphics Books. A thinly veiled autobiographical fiction, the book is a wordless graphic novel in the tradition of Masareel, Lynd Ward, and Milt Gross. Upon discovering that she was adopted, Catherine Flaherty searched for her birth mother. She navigated between bureaucratic sleuthing and her profound need to uncover her history. Catherine has recently received a 2001 Eisner nomination. She recently left California to return to her home town, where she is working on her next comic.

Cover of Catherine Doherty

Can of Worms review

Last updated: 2006-12-21

Series and books by Catherine Doherty in stock in the Lambiek Webshop:

X

Since 1999, Lambiek presents the Comiclopedia as a free service to comic fans from all over the world. The database has expanded to over 12,000 biographies of international comic artists, and also has an extensive Dutch section about comics in the Netherlands.
For 15 years, the site was funded from the resources of our Amsterdam-based shop. However, the current economical circumstances make it difficult for us to maintain this service. At the moment the Comiclopedia's sole editor works for us free of charge, aided by a couple of (international) volunteers.

If you want to help us continue and improve our ever- expanding database, we would appreciate your donation through Paypal.