Mutts by Patrick McDonnell

Patrick McDonnell, a 1979 graduate of the School of Visual Arts in New York City, started his career as an illustrator for several magazines, from The New York Times to Sports Illustrated to Reader's Digest. He also created 'Bad Baby', a monthly comic strip for Parents Magazine, which ran for 10 years.

He launched the strip called 'Mutts' in 1994, a few months before Bill Watterson discontinued his 'Calvin and Hobbes' strip. 'Mutts' contained so much quality that it easily took over the vacancy left by Watterson's popular strip.

Mutts, by Patrick McDonnell

With 'Mutts', McDonnell not only succeeded in doing a newspaper comic in the tradition of 'Krazy Kat' and 'Peanuts', but also is a genius in spoofing modern art and pop-culture. In its short existence, 'Mutts' earned its rank among true "classics".

As a cartoon historian, he also co-authored the book "Krazy Kat: The Art of George Herriman" (Abrams 1986). In 2005, McDonnell embarked on a children's book career.

from Mutts, by Patrick McDonnell

Mutts Comics site
Mutts at King Features

Last updated: 2009-06-12

Series and books by Patrick McDonnell in stock in the Lambiek Webshop:

X

Since 1999, Lambiek presents the Comiclopedia as a free service to comic fans from all over the world. The database has expanded to over 12,000 biographies of international comic artists, and also has an extensive Dutch section about comics in the Netherlands.
For 15 years, the site was funded from the resources of our Amsterdam-based shop. However, the current economical circumstances make it difficult for us to maintain this service. At the moment the Comiclopedia's sole editor works for us free of charge, aided by a couple of (international) volunteers.

If you want to help us continue and improve our ever- expanding database, we would appreciate your donation through Paypal.