Comiclopedia -
Illustrated Artist Compendium

Kees Kousemaker by Peter Pontiac

Welcome to the Comiclopedia, an illustrated compendium of over 13,800 comic artists from around the world. Find your favorite artists, or check out our Dutch section about the Dutch Comics History.

Online since 1 November 1999, the Comiclopedia is the world's largest overview of comic artists, and the brainchild of comic shop Lambiek's founder Kees Kousemaker (1942-2010). Kees was at the vanguard of promoting comics as art, and both the Lambiek store and the website are continuing in his spirit. The current editors of the Comiclopedia are Bas Schuddeboom and Kjell Knudde. Please contact them for corrections or additions.

Also read: The Story of Lambiek!

Kees Kousemaker’s Comiclopedia

Latest Additions

Fri 16 Aug '19
James McIsaac Canada (added)
Wed 14 Aug '19
Paul Schuurmans Belgium (new biography)
Ger Rijff Netherlands (passed away)
Mon 12 Aug '19
Ernie Colón United States (passed away; new biography)
Wed 7 Aug '19
Jacques Gagnier Canada (added)
Hannah Berry United Kingdom (added)
Tue 6 Aug '19
Vahan Shirvanian United States (added)
Phil Collins Canada (added)
Mon 5 Aug '19
Kari Belgium (extra info)
Sun 4 Aug '19
Jijé Belgium (extended entry)
Tue 30 Jul '19
Jean-Jacques Cuvelier Canada (new biography)
Sun 28 Jul '19
Harvey Kurtzman United States (new biography)
Tue 23 Jul '19
Billy Cam United States (extended entry)
Sun 21 Jul '19
Jean-Louis Lejeune Belgium (extended entry)
Jacques Van Melkebeke Belgium (extended entry even more)
Mon 15 Jul '19
John Tenniel United Kingdom (extended entry)
Sun 14 Jul '19
Jimmy Hostens Belgium (new biography)
Sam Brier United States (new biography)
Cham France (new biography)
Sat 13 Jul '19
Baudouin De Duve Belgium (added)

view all additions

Subscribe to our rss Comiclopedia Additions RSS-Feed to stay updated.

Browse artists by country: