Red monkey double happiness book

two stories by Joe Daly

tekenaar: Joe Daly
uitgever: Fantagraphics
uitgiftedatum: 20-10-2009
taal: Engelstalig
inkleuring: full color
pages: 112: Hard Cover

2010 Ignatz Award Nominee: Outstanding Story: "John Wesley Harding"

Set in sun-drenched Cape Town, South Africa, The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book — featuring two full-length stories, “The Leaking Cello Case” and “John Wesley Harding” — is stuffed to the gills with mystery, suspense, action, adventure, conspiracy theories, cool cars, and excellent weed as Dave and his freeloading pal Paul, well-meaning stoners in the tradition of Cheech & Chong and Harold & Kumar, thwart criminal malfeasance even as they ponder the larger questions, such as, “What steps can I personally take to help protect the Earth and the species that inhabit it?” (though most people’s answers to these questions don’t involve sword fights and hovercrafts).

Joe Daly brings a refreshingly original — and utterly hilarious — voice to the comics medium, a dry, deadpan wit anchored in everyday reality combined with unnervingly deranged plots, rendered with a hyper-detailed, half-realistic and half-cartoony Tintin-style crispness.

Overzicht van de beschikbare titels in deze serie: