Passagers du Vent, by François Bourgeon
Les Passagers du Vent - La Petite Fille Bois-Caïman (2009)

Before going into comics, Paris-born François Bourgeon worked as an assistant for a stained glass artist. He started his career in 1971 with making illustrations for the Bayard magazine Lisette et Nade. He created his first comic story, 'L'Ennemi Vient de la Mer', in cooperation with Claude Lacroix a year later. By 1973 he was drawing stories stories for Fripounet and in 1976 he created the medieval series 'Brunelle et Colin' in Djin with scripts by Robert Génin. He also had a brief stint in Pif Gadget with stories like 'Le Serpent de Mer', 'Le Secret de Wilhelm Storitz' and 'La Vouivre'. His first book, 'Maître Guillaume', was published in 1978.

Brunelle et Colin, by François Bourgeon
Brunelle et Colin

In 1979, he began writing and drawing his famous historic nautical series 'Les Passagers du Vent' in Circus. It has been collected in book format by Glénat since 1980. With this series, Bourgeon established himself as a classic allround comic author, as much for his story-telling skills as for his sense of authenticity and coloring.

Les Passagers du Vent - Le Ponton (1980)

The artist moved from Paris to Brittany and retuned to the medieval genre with 'Les Compagnons du Crépuscule', of which three books were published by Casterman between 1984 and 1990. In the early 1990s, Bourgeon was active in the cinema field. In 1993, he created futuristic worlds in 'La Source de la Sonde', the first story in the saga 'Le Cycle de Cyann', in À Suivre together with Claude Lacroix. More installments were published by Vents d'Ouest from 1997.

In 1983, he was one of many comic artists paying homage to the recently deceased Hergé in a special issue of (À Suivre), titled 'Adieu Hergé'. 

Le Cycle de Cyann - Les Couleurs de Marcade (2007)

Series and books by François Bourgeon you can order today:


If you want to help us continue and improve our ever- expanding database, we would appreciate your donation through Paypal.