Comiclopedia -
Illustrated Artist Compendium

Kees Kousemaker by Peter Pontiac

Welcome to the Comiclopedia, an illustrated compendium of over 14,000 comic artists from around the world. Find your favorite artists, or discover new ones!

Online since 1 November 1999, the Comiclopedia is the world's largest overview of comic artists, and the brainchild of comic shop Lambiek's founder Kees Kousemaker (1942-2010). Kees was at the vanguard of promoting comics as art, and both the Lambiek store and the website are continuing in his spirit. The editors/writers of the Comiclopedia are Bas Schuddeboom and Kjell Knudde. Please contact them for corrections or additions.

Also visit:
Lambiek's overview of Dutch Comics History (in Dutch)
The history of Europe's oldest comics shop: The Story of Lambiek (in English and Dutch)

Kees Kousemaker’s Comiclopedia

Latest Additions

Wed 17 Aug '22
Paul Nitsche United States (added)
Tue 16 Aug '22
Rob Syers United States (added)
Sun 14 Aug '22
Mark Fischer New Zealand (added)
Win Smith United States (reworked entry)
Horacio Rodríguez Suría Cuba (new biography)
Jean-Claude Morchoisne France (new biography)
Sat 13 Aug '22
Erik Meynen Belgium (reworked entry)
David Soriano Spain (added)
José Antonio González Spain (new biography)
Fri 12 Aug '22
Maurice Hof Netherlands (added)
Thu 11 Aug '22
Jean-Jacques Sempé France (passed away)
Wed 10 Aug '22
Jan van Reek Netherlands (new biography)
C. Dick Belgium (added)
Mon 8 Aug '22
Raymond Bär von Hemmersweil Netherlands (new biography)
Sun 7 Aug '22
Henk Alleman Netherlands (new biography)
Sat 6 Aug '22
Albert van Beek Netherlands (new biography)
Fri 5 Aug '22
Pieter van Loon Netherlands (added)
Wed 3 Aug '22
Rino Feys Belgium (new biography)
Mon 1 Aug '22
Pieter van Looy, Jr. Netherlands (added)
Fri 29 Jul '22
Paul Coker Jr. United States (passed away)

view all additions

Subscribe to our rss Comiclopedia Additions RSS-Feed to stay updated.

Browse artists by country: