Silence of our Friends by Nate Powell
'Silence Of Our Friends'. 

Nate Powell was born in Little Rock, Arkansas in 1978, and began self-publishing at age 14, through Food Chain Productions. He graduated from the School of Visual Arts in 2000. His early work includes 'Please Release' (2006, Top Shelf), 'The Sounds Of Your Name' (2006, Microcosm Publishing), 'It Disappears' (2004, Soft Skull), 'Tiny Giants' (2003, Soft Skull) and the self-published 'Walkie Talkie' series. He won the Ignatz Award for Outstanding Debut and Outstanding Artist, and an Eisner Award, for his 2008 graphic novel 'Swallow Me Whole'. He has also made contributions to the 'Papercutter', 'Meathaus', and Eisner Award-nominated 'Syncopated' anthologies.

Other notable works by Powell are the 'Any Empire' (2011), a vivid examination of war and violence, and the "true to life" graphic novel 'Silence Of Our Friends' (2012), written by Mark Long and Jim Demonakos. Powell is also the artist of the 2013 graphic novel trilogy 'March', about the life of United States Congressman John Lewis. The three volume series was scripted by Andrew Aydin. Powell has lived in Bloomington, Indiana, since 2004. He owns DIY punk record label Harlan Records and has performed in several punk bands.

The Sounds of your Name by Nate Powell
'The Sounds Of Your Name'.

Series and books by Nate Powell you can order today:


If you want to help us continue and improve our ever- expanding database, we would appreciate your donation through Paypal.