We all die alone

publisher: Fantagraphics
publish date:
language: English
pages: 223: Hard Cover

Finalist, 2010 Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Graphic Novels

Named one of Publishers Weekly's Best Books of 2010

Ranked #6 on Douglas Wolk's Best Graphic Novels of 2010 at TIME.com – Techland

A "Notable Comic" in The Best American Comics 2011

Named to numerous other "Best of 2010" lists including Publishers Weekly's Fifth Annual Critics Poll, East Bay Express's Best Books of 2010, KEXP's Most Rocking Comix 2010, Robot 6, comiXology, Comic Book Resources, Drawn, Rob Clough's Top 50 Books of 2010 at High-Low, The Daily Cross Hatch, Politics and Prose, Robot 6's creators survey, and Hypergeek

For over 20 years now, Jim Woodring has delighted, touched, and puzzled readers around the world with his lush, wordless tales of “Frank.”

Weathercraft is Woodring’s first full-length graphic novel set in this world — indeed, Woodring’s first graphic novel, period! — and it features the same hypnotically gorgeous linework and mystical iconography.

As it happens, Frank has only a brief supporting appearance in Weathercraft, which actually stars Manhog, Woodring’s pathetic, brutish everyman (or everyhog), who had previously made several appearances in “Frank” stories (as well as a stunning solo turn in the short story “Gentlemanhog”).

After enduring 32 pages of almost incomprehensible suffering, Manhog embarks upon a transformative journey and attains enlightenment. He wants to go to celestial realms but instead altruistically returns to the unifactor to undo a wrong he has inadvertently brought about: The transformation of the evil politician Whim into a mind-destroying plant-demon who distorts and enslaves Frank and his friends. The new and metaphysically expanded Manhog sets out for a final battle with Whim...

Weathercraft also co-stars Frank’s cast of beloved supporting characters, including Frank’s Faux Pa and the diminutive, mailbox-like Pupshaw and Pushpaw; it is both a fully independent story that is a great introduction to Woodring’s world, and a sublime addition to, and extension of, the Frank stories.

Available titles in this series: