Kid Beowulf by Alexis Fajardo
'Kid Beowulf and the Blood-Bound Oath'.

Alexis E. Fajardo is an American cartoonist and an Eisner-award winning editor residing in the San Francisco Bay Area. He is the creator of the graphic novel adventure series 'Kid Beowulf' (2004- ).

Early life and education
Born in the American midwest in 1976, Fajardo grew up watching 'Bugs Bunny' cartoons and reading newspaper comic strips and American comic books. A first encounter at age nine with the album 'Asterix The Legionary' from René Goscinny and Albert Uderzo's 'Astérix' series, solidified his desire to become a cartoonist. Fajardo studied at Earlham College in Richmond, Indiana, where he graduated in 1998 with a degree in Classics. A longtime fan and student of comics, Fajardo counts 'Asterix', Jeff Smith's 'Bone' and Charles Schulz's 'Peanuts' among his main influences.

Kid Beowulf
Primarily self-taught, Fajardo's first foray into cartooning was the comic strip 'Plato's Republic' (1998-2004, which ran online as a webcomic. In 2004, he began publishing his graphic novel series 'Kid Beowulf' - an action-adventure series in the tradition of 'Asterix' and 'Bone'. Inspired by the epic poem 'Beowulf', 'Kid Beowulf' follows the adventures of 12-year-old twin brothers, Beowulf and Grendel, as they travel across distant lands and meet fellow epic heroes therein. Originally self-published, the 'Kid Beowulf' series has been published by American publishers Bowler Hat Comics and Andrews McMeel. Titles include 'Kid Beowulf and the Blood-Bound Oath' (2008), 'Kid Beowulf and the Song of Roland' (2010), 'Kid Beowulf and the Rise of El Cid' (2012) and 'Kid Beowulf - The Tarpeian Rock' (2021).


'Kid Beowulf - The Tarpeian Rock' (2021).

Charles M. Schulz Studio
Fajardo also works as Editorial Director for the Charles M. Schulz Studio in Santa Rosa, California. Since 2007, Fajardo has edited 'Peanuts' comic books, comic strip collections, and storybooks. In 2018, Fajardo won an Eisner Award for editing the Best Archival Project, 'Celebrating Snoopy', published by Andrews McMeel. Fajardo has also written exhibition material for the Charles M. Schulz Museum and Snoopy Museum Tokyo. He is a member of the National Cartoonist Society.


Alexis Fajardo in 2018.

www.kidbeowulf.com

Series and books by Alexis E. Fajardo you can order today:

X

If you want to help us continue and improve our ever- expanding database, we would appreciate your donation through Paypal.